International AURORA Conference on Scientific Computing 2007
June 18-20, 2007, University of Vienna, Austria

Workshop Co-Chairs:
Karlheinz Schwarz (Vienna University of Technology)
Hans Zima (University of Vienna)

AURORA is a Priority Research Program on Advanced Models, Applications and Software Systems for High Performance Computing supported by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF). The AURORA program started in April 1997 and has its major focus on high-productivity language, compiler, and tool development, in addition to applications and Grid computing.

The major motivation for establishing AURORA was to reduce the gap between the abstract formulation of scientific thought and the dominating low-level programming paradigm for High Performance Computing. Research has been guided by the insight that real progress in this field can only be achieved if application and algorithm developers work closely together with the designers of programming languages, compilers, and programming environments. Important achievements include the work on the language standard High Performance Fortran (HPF), together with the development of associated compilation and tool technology, the quantum-mechanical package WIEN2K licensed to more than 1000 users world-wide, the development of the parallel MCTDHF code package for few-electron dynamics, and the large-scale electronic structure calculation of high-Z metals on the BlueGene/L platform, which was awarded the Gordon Bell Prize in 2006.

This conference marks the official end of the AURORA Program. It combines a presentation of the major scientific achievements by the leading researchers involved with an assessment of the state-of-the-art and an outlook to future developments in the field. Particular emphasis will be placed on outlining the importance of the synergy between computer scientists, mathematicians, and application designers, which was the key for the successful work in AURORA.

Sponsored by:
Austrian Science Fund Oesterreichische Nationalbank Gemeinde Wien
University of Vienna Vienna University of Technology University of Innsbruck
Sun Microsystems - AT